MyThoughts

The Struggle Before the Writing Begins as a Grad Student

My lecturer told me he doesn’t want to hear grad students complain about writing. They’ve barely dipped their toes in the shallow end of the pool. Then why do I feel like I’m already drowning . 

memebetter.com-20160511214622.jpg 

Graduation is coming up as the final loose end of my undergraduate life on campus is closing. I’m in the midst of preparing my Valedictorian speech to present in front of hundreds of people*gulps*.

I have two course work essays ranging between 4000-6000 words to do plus six submissions of reponses to theoretical frameworks and peer reviews to complete, two massive group presentations one of which is a conference panel and an annotated biliography apart from my thesis proposal to submit.

Struggles_Image_2

okay, breathe. 

I mean this is the price you pay for pursuing your Master’s right after a Bachelor’s. There hasn’t been a moment of relief, but I love what I do. I love literature. Yet, I feel so lost because of the added pressure.

I know what I have to do but I just can’t seem to find the time for everything or worst yet I’m seeking that inspiration. Come on inspiration just slap me across the face ;’)

I want what I dedicate my life to for the next two years to be a thesis I love.

If any grad student of the humanities reads this drop some knowledge below of where do you even start when choosing your thesis topic. I have some ideas of what I want to do but it’s all jumbled in my head. 😥

Falling-Back-In-Love-With-Writing-2-300x300

Leave a Reply

