poetry

Connection| Poetry Corner

This piece started as prose but as per usual because of my aesthetic it became poetry. I will write a short prose piece soon though.
I don’t know why I wrote this.

The challenge of this piece (that I set for myself) was to create a short poem that went from digital to conventional, something technical to something so human and personal like reading a book. A spectrum of some sorts. I don’t know why it was just the theme in my head (the content of this poem just somehow fit). I’ve been doing a paper on the postmodern world so I assume this was why technology and its impact on the rawest of human emotions are on my mind. People meet so much of their friends or romantic partners on the internet these days. The ending turned out kind of sad, but that’s life right?

Enjoy!

 

 

I think it was more of a chance meeting,

Then in a time so technologically advanced most of our interactions are calculated.

Maybe it was simply a matter of right place, right time.

Or was an algorithm in the making, I’d rather think it was fated.

I think that was the first step,

The connection. The moment we linked.

We were responsible from where it went from there.

Left to our human errors but we made it here.

Now you see we didn’t have an outline, a pattern or guide

We were young. Inexperienced. Living two different lives

We made some good choices that led to the greats.

I made some bad choices I’m still paying for as of late.

Somehow the first time I saw you,

Meant meeting a stranger for the first time was like hugging home.

Little naïve me believed I’d never be alone.

I thought again of the algorithm working away when it led us to each other,

Whether it be lovers or friends it knew there was something there to be discovered.
It didn’t take long after to feel like you were an extension of myself.

You were like a book I would read over and over and never put back on the shelf.

Drink in each word with such fevour,

Hold my breath and turn each page because I never wanted it to be over.

A book that was rough around the edges from being kept close to my heart

I was lost in our story but most of it was in my head,

But it just proved you were well loved from the start..
And I was just well read.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment